

A newsletter sharing EGHS classmate's information, adventures, events, and Elk Grove history. Just a way to keep us all connected. All are welcome. Enjoy!

## EGHS UPdate # 696

April 26-27, 2025



## Tyler Routt Gamer All-Star Game

## Sunday, May 4, 2025

## Bartholomew Sports Park (10150 Franklin High Road, Elk Grove 95757)

• 11:00 am - Len Willeford Home Run Derby

1

• 2:00 pm All-Star game

"On Sunday, May 4, 2025, Bartholomew Sports Park, we will honor as we have for the last 20 years a former EGHS graduate, Tyler Routt ('95) with the Tyler Routt Gamer All-Star Game. This mid-season all star game is our way of recognizing the best teammate, best attitude and best effort players on our teams."



Tyler Routt (1995)

"Tyler played for Elk Grove Babe Ruth from age 12 until he aged out of the Senior Babe Ruth at 19. Tragically a little over a year after his last Senior Babe Ruth game he was killed in an auto accident. Tyler Routt was not the best player on the field but arguably he was the best teammate. He pitched well, he hit well, including some home runs, and he could field and run. But perhaps what stood out the most was his attitude, his support of his teammates and his love of the game."

"The teams this year are named for MLB players who also graduated from EGHS, Rowdy Tellez (2013) and Derek Hill (2014). Last year we honored Nick Madrigal (2015) and David Hernandez (2003) Both Nick's Dad Mike and David's Dad showed up at the game. In the past we have honored JD Davis (2011) among others."

"Before the Tyler Routt game we honor another man with a connection to EGHS, Len Willeford with the Home Run Derby at Bartholomew Sports Park at 11am. Len didn't graduate from EGHS but son Mark (1981) did. Mark does the hats for the Tyler Routt game and the homerun derby. The Willeford family; Len, Mona, and Mark ran the sports shop in Elk Grove for years and Len was a mentor, coach and big contributor to our league." – Coah Doug Penney



Rowdy Tellez (2013)



Nick Madrigal (2015)



Derek Hill (2014)



David Hernandez (2003)



JD Davis (2011)



Mark Willeford (1981)